Books for Christmas

Christmas eve afternoon, Ken and I read in the living room. Loki perched on my shoulders to watch the neighborhood.

Usually, Ken and I exchange “Christmas gifts” in November or even October. (You need a new messenger bag?–Me too–Merry Christmas.) This year, we made it all the way until Christmas eve. I gave him a copy of Lev Grossman’s The Magicians (I’ve heard it’s like a meta Harry Potter for adults–perfect, right, readers who know Ken?), and Ken got me Megan Mayhew Bergman’s Birds of a Lesser ParadiseIt looks like a lovely fictional follow-up to Amy Leach’s Things That Are, my favorite book of 2012 in the category of creative nonfiction. (The Sarah Awards–how all should cherish even being nominated!)

In other news, we now have too many Christmas cookies in our kitchen. (Best of problems.) Also, friends are coming over tonight for our weekly movie night to enjoy leftovers and the Christmas classic, Die Hard.

Onward to test my favorite non-papery Christmas gift: a hands-free dog leash!

2 thoughts on “Books for Christmas

  1. Do I spy a border collie? I do so love them.

    I’ve heard many good things about The Magicians (and even more so its sequel), so I will likely eventually have to pick that one up too.

    You can’t go wrong with an excess of cookies and Die Hard!

    • We were told he was a border mix when we adopted him. Saw him herd for the first time at the dog park a few days ago. 🙂

      Agreed re: cookies and Die Hard!

Leave a Reply

