On New Year’s Resolutions

Neil Gaiman.

I love the above graphic-ized quote from Neil Gaiman (confirmed his from his Twitter account). The “live as only you can” especially strikes a chord–the part of me that agrees art can be a life. The wish (blessing?) acknowledges that joy, creativity, and surprise–something different–are really what most of us are looking for in the new year. While I might vow to replace all refined sugar at home with agave nectar in 2013, what I really want is transformation. To be and do something different and unexpected. Simultaneously, to change for the better and be more myself.

But I find the resolve isn’t often present when it needs to be. It’s in the daydreamy planning times, the kinds that I’m always indulging in, be it December 31st or May 31st. To change, really, I need to change my behavior in the moment when it counts, and do what I really want to be doing when I don’t feel like doing it. (I remember hearing once that that’s what it means to grow up: to do what’s important even if you don’t want to or feel like it.)

Then Randall Munroe ofΒ xckd fame produces this gem:

resolution

For me, ultimately, there’s no sense in New Year’s Resolutions. When I’m ready to change, I will.

15 thoughts on “On New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Found you just now, thanks to Dreaming The World. “…change my behavior in the moment when it counts.” Powerful words. Great attitude. It is all a matter of attitude, isn’t it? And not just when a new year rolls in. We were just thinking about that today. Coincidence? we think not! Have a fantastic, transforming and lighthearted New Year!

  2. Pingback: Lots of eggs, lots of baskets | This is my year

Leave a Reply

